“You only have to ask!” Blog 14-2017

Yesterday morning Doug and I were at our daughter’s home early to do the school run. Andrew, who is three years old called out to me from the opposite side of the room. He was standing on a bench behind their dining table. “Grandma! Grandma! He demanded in a loud voice to get my attention. Looking up I saw he was holding a supermarket catalogue with one hand and using the other to stab at the page with his index finger. “We need this grandma!” He exclaimed.” We have to have this.” Doug quickly enquired, “What is it son, what do you have to have?”  With an angelic smile that only a three year old can produce Andrew answered. “It’s ice-cream, we need ice-cream”. In fact he wanted chocolate coated strawberry ice cream.

What did I do? What did I say? I said the same thing that you would say if you were a grandma, the same thing that grandmas have been saying down through the years. “Well if you need ice-cream son, you shall have ice-cream!” Thinking about him indulgently later I contemplated the fact that he only had to ask and my every wish is his command.

It reminds me of Blog no.10 which I wrote recently titled “I no like the jumpy castle”. In it I refer to a Pastor who speculated that although we speak of God’s unconditional love as the ‘Father Heart of God’ maybe we should call it the ‘Grandmother heart of God.”

John Wesley once said, “God does nothing except in response to believing prayer.” Andrew asked me for ice-cream believing (expecting) I would say yes it wasn’t a pious prayer just a simple request. That is all God requires of us, just to come to Him as a simple child and ask.        (see James 4:3 which says in effect….. “You do not have because you do not ask”)

FB_IMG_1498804422136

Andrew

Blog No 10 Can be read on my Facebook Page – Veronica Nowell – Author)

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

