Little Boy Lost Blog 13-2017

Some time ago our six year old grandson came to stay and when it was time to go to bed he wanted his Mummy so we drove him home again. Today I was thinking about this and asked Doug how he felt after losing his Mum at the age of six. “Did you wish you could have her back?” I questioned. “I knew my Mum had passed away,” he responded, “I saw her funeral procession but I don’t think it dawned on me that this was a forever thing. I guess I felt lost, I didn’t have a family anymore and somehow was a bit disassociated from everything.”

Doug was starting to reminisce and I was all ears, I knew at times like this I often learn some little morsel of information which I have not heard before. He continued, “I was twelve when my father returned from Melbourne after the war and I was so pleased that I was going to live with him again. It wasn’t until one day when we, Dad, Nancy and Lillian were sitting around the fire toasting crumpets that I suddenly realised Mum wasn’t there and never would be again and I burst into tears. Later, when I was an adult and my sisters had moved away, Dad would tell me stories about Mum and I wished that I could meet someone like her.

Doug continued, “My sister Nancy and her husband Jim returned to Maryborough when I was twenty six and I was so thrilled. They brought two beautiful little girls with them and soon after a baby boy joined us, I felt at last that I had a proper family.”  The reminiscing was over, subject closed.

There isn’t much for me to add except that two years after Nancy and Jim returned to Maryborough my family arrived on the scene and even though he didn’t like this city girl in the beginning Doug and I ended up getting married. The years have come and gone we have been blessed with four beautiful daughters and 14 grandchildren including a new batch of little boys to whom he is devoted. He’s no longer a little boy lost in fact he found Jesus too so he is doubly not a little boy lost .kevs pics724 Douglas

The only picture we have of Doug about 9 years old

Doug’s story can be read in my book ‘icecreams’ a trilogy – contact me via Facebook

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Little Boy Lost Blog 13-2017

Leave a Reply

