That special touch. Blog 12-2017

After filling the cotton ball container in my bathroom the other day I was surprised to find it empty when I went to cleanse my face. It was then I recalled that our three year old grandson had been with us in the morning. Steven is a great explorer; he has to investigate the whole place every time he comes to visit. I looked in the drawers and the cupboards and finally concluded that said cotton balls must have been flushed.

Many years ago I read that once a child is six years old their sensory abilities are fully developed and he/she knows instinctively the texture and feel of something without the need to touch it. How then does that apply to adults who on seeing a ‘wet paint’ sign can’t resist touching the paint to find out if it is indeed wet? Does their curiosity get the better of their knowledge?

When visiting the V & A in London back in 2013 I noted a sign on what might have been Queen Victoria’s Bed. It read something like ‘Do not touch’ and I interpreted that to mean don’t sit or lie on the bed. But that’s not what it said. Clearly, do not touch, meant exactly that. When I gave the bed a little prod to see if it was hard or soft the loudest of sirens sounded. Oh dear! How embarrassing.

‘Touch’ is one of the five ‘love languages’. Physical touch, Gifts, Words of affirmation, Acts of service and Quality time. My primary love language is Quality time, so have a coffee with me and a nice chat and I feel really good. However, I have to remember Doug’s love language is   Physical Touch; he likes to hold hands, have a hug and feels really loved if I take the time to put  sunscreen on his face or a band-aid on a cut.

The gospels record Jesus as touching many whom He healed, including the untouchable leper.  I think one of the loveliest stories about touch is the one about the woman who had a haemorrhage for twelve years. (Luke chapter 8) This woman couldn’t get near Jesus for the crowd but she thought that if she only could touch the hem of his garment she would be healed.  When Jesus felt the healing power leave Him he asked “Who touched me?”  Trembling she fell down on her knees and confessed. “Daughter your faith has healed you.” Jesus said, “Go in peace.” Twelve years of misery wiped away with one touch. One special touch!

Cotton Balls

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

