Its okay to be eccentric- Blog 7 2017

Doug and I like to watch Great British Railway Journeys presented by Michael Portillo on SBS. However, I must admit that I am almost as interested in what Michael is wearing as I am in the amazing scenery and interesting places he visits. Why? Because Michael wears brightly coloured jackets and sometimes trousers. In one episode there will be a number of wardrobe changes. I always look forward to seeing what he will wear next.

Tim Wonnacott is the presenter of Bargain Hunt, he wears brightly coloured spectacle frames, generally, these match his bow tie and clothing. Tim must have more pairs of glasses than any man on earth. He may indeed be the Imelda Marcos of Spectacles. While I am on the subject of coloured clothing, I can’t believe how many British males wear pink trousers, what is that all about? Maybe it’s because British men obviously are not afraid of colour.  Back in the renaissance period men wore cotton, satin and velvet in bright colours and designs often trimmed with lace.

Back to the subject, according to the dictionary eccentric apart from obviously meaning off-centre is defined as unconventional, individual and a free spirit. Doug always makes a point of stopping and saying hello to young people with crazy hair colours or styles because he reckons their style is saying notice me, I’m an individual, so he does just that.

Twenty odd years ago we were discussing a relative and I concluded that the person was quite eccentric. Doug looked at me with that silly grin he has and asked. “You do know you’re eccentric, don’t you?” “Me!” I exclaimed, “Do you think so?” This was news to me and I was even more surprised when he listed some of my so called eccentric ways. “Well,” I concluded just a little miffed. “If I’m eccentric what are you? “Oh! That’s easy.” He beamed “I’m feral.” We both burst into laughter and I added “Well, I don’t mind being eccentric if you are feral.”

I have come to the conclusion that there is nothing wrong with being eccentric. As I have grown older I can see that we are all a little eccentric and I find that refreshing when I see it in people. How horrible if we were all robotic and programmed to conform to the Status quo for being proper. (Whatever that is?) Maybe we should celebrate our difference and pray the words of the Psalmist.”Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvellous – how well I know it.” Psalm 139:14 The New Living Bible.

great-british-railway-journeys

Michael Portillo – Great British Railway Journeys

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

