Airports and Assumptions blog 3 2017

I can’t be sure where my love affair with Airports first started but I think it was sometime in the nineties. With my mother living in Tasmania and us on the mainland, flights became quite regular.

One day as I was sitting at the Airport it dawned on me that I really enjoyed being there. I so liked watching people passing by and seeing the families chattering as they headed toward their gate lounge. There seemed to be a special sense of camaraderie amongst the travellers too. I can’t recall if I have always been a creature of habit, or if it is only since I have been older, but I have loved to get to the airport early so that I can just sit and watch the people passing by.

Ten days ago we flew to Sydney and that old magic of the airport was gone. The trip into Tullamarine had been leisurely and we had heaps of time to spare but, regardless of that, the old sensation I usually experienced was missing. I had assumed that I would always have this feeling, but not so it seems. Not that I live by feelings or assumptions but I have to say I was a little disappointed. However, life changes and things change and there is little one can do about it. My sister Celia, often used to quote her Pastor as saying, ”Everything is subject to change.”

While thinking about this after we arrived home the words of one of the songs from the old Salvation Army Musical, ‘Hosea’ came to mind

Don’t assume that God’s dismissed you from His mind,

Don’t assume that God’s forgotten to be kind;

For no matter what you do, His love still follows you;

Don’t assume that you have left Him far behind.

The first line of the chorus reads:-  ‘For his love remains the same, He knows you by your name.’

Well now! There is something in life that is not subject to change after all. The Love of God for us. In fact right through the Bible we are reminded that God is changeless. God is immutable, his character is irreversible, binding, unalterable, and permanent and His love for us never changes. In Malachi 3:6 He actually says “I the Lord do not change.” So this is not an assumption this, is a fact.

By the way there are still lots of things we find pleasure in so we will replace Airports with something else.  Susan Boyle is singing ‘ You raise me up’ as I write, it is Doug’s CD but I find great pleasure in listening when he plays it.

img_20170128_0001

At Tullamarine in September 2013 with the Conlon’s

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Airports and Assumptions blog 3 2017

  1. Really enjoyed this blog post.Thanks Again. Cool.

Leave a Reply

