Friends and Neighbours Blog 40-2016

The other day I took a picture from my lounge room window of the lovely succulents which flower every October. When I took a closer look I discovered you could clearly see the exact same flowers in the garden directly opposite us. In fact when I posted a picture of my new bedroom windows on Facebook recently many people commented on the pretty pink stocks you could see outside. They are also growing in abundance in my neighbour’s garden.

Did we purchase or grow the same flowers? No! My neighbour loves to share as do we. In fact our apricot rose is also flowering in the house next door to us and we are often recipients of goodies left by one or other of our neighbours. Last week our neighbour at the back had a baking spree and sent up some lovely date scones to share. Are we blessed with good neighbours? I think so!

Although we live in an outer suburb of Melbourne the area in which we live has a lovely village feel about it. We have our special neighbours but also our local shopping centre is full of folk who have become acquaintances, friends and neighbours in the past six years.

We all know the story of the Good Samaritan which Jesus told the disciples when they questioned him about who was their neighbour. Apparently there was no love lost between the Jews and the Samaritans in fact it seems they clearly despised each other. I think the story undoubtedly shows us that anyone in need of our neighbourliness is our neighbour. Whether friend or foe, whether we have different belief systems, or even if we don’t like them.

Maybe we could all practice being a neighbour today?

flowers

Our neighbour’s garden across the road showing the same succulents and stocks.

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friends and Neighbours Blog 40-2016

  1. Gill Edwards says:

    goodness its beautiful round your way isnt it. I wish we had such gorgeous gardens out the front but so many people are paving them now so its just bricks or hedges to look at. We are big Neighbours fans, the tv show here and your area reminds me of the set of that. I hope your neighbours are nicer than those characters though ;-D
    Gill x

    • If it helps my lawn is only mowed grass and I only photograph the nice bits. Lol. My neighbours are just the best, I think the lack of front fences makes a difference to the look. This suburb was built in the eighties and all the power lines are underground too which believe it on not makes a great difference. It makes the place more picturesque. Fiona’s is the same.

Leave a Reply

