Bee my Guest Blog 39-2016

“I feel so sad,” Yvette exclaimed to me looking almost teary a few days ago. “Why is that?” I questioned. “I’ve just read about Bees, it’s so sad.” “What makes you so sad about Bee’s?” I enquired. “Do you know they only live for 4 to 5 weeks and they spend all that time working and collecting nectar? In the end they die and the amount of honey all that work has produced is just a quarter of a teaspoon. All that effort for such a little result how sad is that?”

Now those of you who know Yvette know that her nickname is Be. It all came about when our grandson Johnathon was little; he could not pronounce Yvette and used to say Be-Bette. In time this became shortened to ‘B’ and was picked up by the rest of the grandchildren, indeed the rest of the family. Over the years she has been given many a gift relating to bees. Maybe that is why she was feeling such an affinity with the hard working Bee.

At first I agreed with her, that is a lot of work for such a little result.  However on second thoughts I realized that it’s not about the amount of work one little bee has to do. It’s about the collective team work which actually produces buckets of Honey. I checked and there can be 20,000 to 60,000 bees in a single hive. So if you do the math, they can produce 5,000 to 15,000 teaspoons of honey between them. Now! That is quite a few jars!

Think of what would happen if these little bees gave up because they thought their effort was insignificant? I know it wouldn’t actually happen as bees are programmed to perform the way they do. Sometimes we humans spend too much time thinking about what we can or can’t do instead of just getting with the programme. The next time I see Bee’s collecting nectar  I will remind myself that these girls are doing their bit and I must do mine. (Worker bees are female)

bees

The Bee umbrella the boys brought Be from Beechworth last month

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

