Got any Rivers? Blog 37 -2016

Recently, here in Victoria as well as Tasmania, South Australia and now NSW we have experienced heavy rains. This has caused rivers to break their banks and even small creeks to flood. Constantly we are reminded not to try to drive across rivers even on provided crossings or to drive through flood waters no matter how shallow the water seems to appear.

However, regularly, we are hearing of cars being swept away when seemingly innocuous crossings are flooded in a few seconds. It of course is a problem for many who only have the one route home, or only one way to get from point A to point B. Maybe this and familiarity with the crossing is the reason some are willing to give it a try instead of waiting for the all clear or an alternative.

Last weekend I faced an uncrossable river, metaphorically speaking that is. It was an impossible situation for which I was required to find the answer. When I was a younger woman in the workplace I learned the stalling tactic. Buying some time obviously helps you to get a better perspective and maybe helps the other party to see more clearly too. I was in Sydney, so I suggested that I would deal with the matter when I returned home.  I had no idea what to do as it seemed to me there wasn’t a solution. Meanwhile I did the only thing I could do. I asked God for help. Just when things seemed to be going from bad to worse the situation resolved itself. I believe God provided the resolution which took the matter out of my hands.

Six days later, on Saturday morning, our daily devotional was about Staying power, (remaining resolute). Bob Gass quoted the words of a gospel song I have not heard for forty years or more. I couldn’t help but smile.

The words were:-

Got any rivers you think are uncrossable?

Got any mountains you can’t tunnel through?

God specializes in things thought impossible;

He can do just what no other can do.

So, I share this thought with you. Got any rivers you think are uncrossable? Or any Red Seas either? God can do the impossible; all you have to do is ask Him.

driving-in-floodwater

 

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

