‘Keeps you Humble’ Blog 32 – 2016

I am so fragile about my books it takes me months to be able to read them after they are in print. I did not re-read ‘six chocolate coated ice creams’ until I was about to set up the ‘ice creams’ trilogy. What a shock I received. Now, I expected a typo or two because I am an amateur but I could not believe my eyes.  I paid good money to have the manuscript proof read but obviously not enough. I really wanted to get the document corrected from a paper copy but the person concerned insisted on an electronic one. When it arrived back I glanced over it noting heaps more commas than I would normally use but I did not check it.

I repeat, WHAT A SHOCK! You can’t imagine my original embarrassment. It was not until I had to proof read the trilogy that I discovered the typographical errors. The trilogy cost me a few thousand and as I had already paid for a proof reader once I was not prepared to pay another $1000 for the trilogy. Hence, I discovered the mistakes for myself. I found one or two typos in the first two books which I had proof read myself, however, in the last book which I had initially paid to be proofread there were quite a number.

Talk about keeping me humble! Now I know there will still be one or two typos in the trilogy but certainly not a lot. I still feel a degree of discomfiture when someone mentions ‘six chocolate coated icecreams’ but I have learned to live with it. After all there are more important things in this world to feel uncomfortable about other than a dent in my pride and how people view my book.

One of those more important things was the Trilogy Itself. On the 28th of January the Publishers were declared bankrupt. It would be some months before the receivers released the right to print. Now, of course I am so thrilled to have it back. It was God who enabled me to write it in the first place and God who enabled me to negotiate the legal proceedings. So, as the Psalmist said, it is better to trust in the Lord than put confidence in man. After all, man can like your work one day and call out ‘Crucify’ the next.

Icecreams

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘Keeps you Humble’ Blog 32 – 2016

  1. belgravian says:

    I know what you mean that terrible feeling when you spot a typo AFTER it has been published. I still have terrible problems with commas. Well done once again a great blog.

  2. Jacqui Conlon says:

    Well done, you. I admire your courage in self-publishing in the first place, and the stick ability in finishing it. My autobiography still remains in my head, and never likely to emerge!

Leave a Reply

