‘Oh Dad!’ Blog 30 – 2016

The other morning Yvette called out “Oh Dad!” I remarked jokingly, “what have you done now, Doug?” It transpired that he was not in trouble, Yvette just wanted to share some good news with him. I think my quick response was because we happened to be reminiscing the day before about our daughters’ “Oh Dad!” and “Oh Mum!” cries from the past.

We took fishing lines with us on one of our holidays down the great Ocean Road. Both Meredith and Yvette who were in their mid teens were keen to fish out on the rocks at Apollo bay.  I have never seen anyone get their lines caught like they did. Every time Doug went to cast his line he had to stop for another ‘Oh Da-a-a-d!’ as if he had personally caused their hooks to snag on rocks or seaweed or something else. He was so patient with them but didn’t get much fishing done himself. By the time he had untangled one line he was being called to untangle the other.

The ‘Oh Mu-u-u-m!’ Cries were mostly in relation to knitting or sometimes crochet. I taught all four of the girls to knit. I was so used to the seemingly accusing ‘Oh Mum!’ that I used to answer with, “What have I done now?” Was I was supposed to have noticed that they dropped a stitch a dozen rows back? I would patiently pick the stitch up or if it was not possible I would unpick the twelve rows and knit them back. This was so that so they could continue where they left off and not get disheartened. However, I must confess I used to say to them, “I hope you have girls when you get married and they want to learn to knit.” I had a little chuckle the other day when Fiona told me she was helping Caitlin with her knitting and the memory of what I used to say came back to her.

Our heavenly Dad wants us to call out to him when we are in trouble too, when we need help, when we are upset, when we are sad, when we are happy. He doesn’t even mind the ‘Oh Dad’s’ either. In fact He says, ‘Call unto me and I will answer you and show you great and mighty things…’Jeremiah 33:3, and by the way, He doesn’t hope for revenge as I did.

P.S. The ‘Oh Dad’ expressions have gone now. Doug has become their ‘darling daddy’ he has turned into their hero and I think he deserves it too.

Fishing

A windblown Meredith fishing from the rocks.

 

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

