God’s got your back! Blog 26-2016

It’s curious how some of the amusing and endearing sayings your young children used seem to stay with you for a lifetime. I’m sure we can all think of some quaint little saying either we or one of our children has come up with that still travels the journey with us.

When Anita was little she would say ‘ahind’ instead of behind. Whenever we were out somewhere I would turn around to check my little clutch of chickens were all with me and invariably Anita would pipe up “I’m ahind you Mum” So I had to smile while travelling up the escalators at the shopping centre the other day as I heard Doug say “I’m ahind you Mum.” “Does that mean you’ve got my back?” I queried.

Five years ago, Anita and her husband David with their three boys relocated to Sydney after 25 years in Melbourne. One night just prior to leaving, David woke in fright. He had been dreaming that he and Anita were racing down-hill in the back seat of a car when he realized there was no one at the steering wheel. He was scrambling to try and get over to the front seat when he awoke. For a moment he wondered if moving to Sydney was the right decision. Just then a quiet voice said to him, “It’s alright, I am steering this car. I’m in control, I’ve got you covered.” In other words “I’ve got your back.”

Originally a military term, I’ve got you covered, or I’ve got your back, is such a reassuring statement. I am so glad that we can step out knowing that God’s got our back. The Bible says the Lord will go before you and be your rear guard. (Isaiah 52.12) This means if we love Him and follow Him, He has got our front and our back. (See also Psalm 91)

 

Josh Tim and Nathaniel

Tim’s got your back Josh!  And Nathaniel is behind you too. Anita’s boys.

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

