“I know you can.” Blog 24-2016

“I remember standing at the side entrance of Auntie Mary’s house in Holyrood Street in Maryborough to watch the goods trains. Auntie Mary’s house was on the corner of Burns and Holyrood Street and the railway line was right opposite. It would have been in about 1945-46. In those days everything went by train, no large road transports then. The laden carriages were pulled by two engines and they would struggle up the hill till they finally made it to the top.”

Doug started telling me this as we were puffing up the rise on our morning walk. It was just one of those days.  I was imitating the children’s story we heard as kids, repeating, “I think I can, I think I can,” as we struggled along. It being winter we were walking much later than usual and we always find the rise harder later in the day. We’ll soon be at the, “I knew I could, I knew I could stage.” Doug encouraged.

“Did they ever not make it?” I asked. “From time to time.” He replied. “There were occasions when those two engines would get to the crest of the hill opposite the Loco shed and then roll all the way back down again. They blew the whistle as they went to let the men in charge of the Loco shed know they were in trouble. The weight of the carriages dragged them all the way to Simpson Siding. Eventually, I would see a third engine from the loco shed backing up the line towards the two others. Once connected, although the three engines would still strain up the hill they would finally make it over the top and down the other side.”

As Doug was speaking I thought about how much like life that is. Sometimes we struggle so hard to do things in our own strength and find that we just can’t make it . When all we need to do is send a message to God to help us. He has a spare engine (energy source) locked away in His Loco shed and He’s just waiting for us to ask for it.

images (1)

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

