‘Valued’ Blog 23-2016

While washing the Old Country Roses trio’s which we used in honour of my mother’s birthday a few days back, I remembered that fine china should be washed at least once a year to stop it from crazing. With this in mind I took out the tea set Doug bought me for my twenty first birthday. “You had good taste.” I remarked as I handled it, “Good choice!” “It wasn’t me,” he replied, “It was your Mum!” “Mum?” I responded. “I thought you and she went together to choose it?” Not so apparently. After 51 years I’ve discovered that Doug gave Mum the cash and she went shopping on her own.

Because of this revelation my little Colclough teaset, which is no longer manufactured means even more to me than before. It’s special because Doug gave it to me and doubly since Mum chose it. This got me thinking about the fact that not only collectables become more valued with years, so do people, even after death. The Memories of our mum, my sister and our little grandson Peter have not diminished but rather have become more precious as the years go by. I remember their likes and dislikes, their funny ways their endearing qualities. I recall their laugh, their expressions, their joys and their pain.

In the same way that people and their memory are valued by us we are valued by God. He knows our likes and dislikes our good points and bad and yet with all our fears and foibles He loves us unreservedly. In fact not only so, but He values us so much He was willing to sacrifice His only Son for our Redemption.   (John 3:16)

As I write I am reminded not to forget to tell those I love how much they are valued. By the way, when I spoke to Yvette about washing the tea set I discovered it had been done recently. Now that’s precious!

IMG_2274

 

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Valued’ Blog 23-2016

  1. Thanks Frank you are so kind. PS. Looking for your blog

Leave a Reply

