Happy Birthday, Your Majesty! Blog 22-2016

This weekend we are celebrating the birthday of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. Such celebrations were first officially marked in the month of June for King George ll in 1748, traditionally this has taken place in June, it being summer in the UK. As you may know Her Majesty was actually born on April 21st 1926.  If you have my read my book ‘a fourpenny wafer’ or been reading my blogs for a while you will know that my sister Celia, was born on the Queens 21st birthday while the then Princess Elizabeth was giving her speech. This was Celia’s claim to fame.

Stashed away safely I have my claim to fame, a letter from Her Majesty. A few years back I participated in the National Day of Thanksgiving. We were encouraged to write and thank people in authority. Subsequently one of my letters was addressed to the Queen. The correspondence I received in return was written by one of her Majesty’s ladies in waiting, nevertheless it’s still pretty special to me.

The other day I walked into the bookshop at church and there was a lovely coffee table book entitled ‘The servant Queen and the King she serves’, It was a tribute for Her Majesty’s 90th Birthday.  Produced by the Bible Society it cost the princely sum of $7.99 now you can’t get anything for $7.99 these days. What a bargain! I had to have it! This book is full of lovely pictures and quotations about the Queens faith from her speeches down through the years.

When we were children at school every Monday morning we would stand beneath the unfurled Aussie Flag, right hand over our heart and recite our loyal pledge to serve the Queen:

I’ll Love God and my Country.

I’ll honour the flag.

I’ll serve the Queen,

And cheerfully obey my parents, teachers and the law.

In Her Majesty’s speech on her 21st birthday she stated and I quote, “I declare that my whole life whether long or short will be devoted to your service……….she concluded with “God help me to make good my vow, and God Bless all of you who are willing to share in it.”  Sixty nine years later she is still devoted to serving us, working a 40 hour week, and God is still blessing us who are willing to share in it.

Happy Birthday, Your Majesty!

The Queen1

Her Majesty making her speech on 21st April 1947

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

