Oops! Blog 21- 2016

Last Tuesday we were packing away the shopping and Doug decided to deal with the Celery.  I came up beside him and started to wash it. “You cut the main stems awfully short.” I remarked, examining the wastage. “We’ll use it for soup.” He replied as he commenced chopping the top pieces. I was still a little miffed as I examined the lengths. It was then Doug offered with a cheeky grin. “If you don’t like it you can do it yourself you know.” “Oops!” I remarked laughing, “Oh! No it’s fine, it will make amazing soup.” I exaggerated. The last thing I wanted was to be chopping veggies for soup.

Don’t you love that word? Oops! Well, it doesn’t really matter whether you do or not because I do. One of my mother’s frequently repeated quotes was, ‘love covers a multitude of sins’. When you would apologise for some misdemeanour she would say with a smile, “Its ok, love covers a multitude of sins.” However I reckon second to that Oops covers a vast number of sins two. Now before you theologians get upset about my comparison with St Peters words, this is not an exegesis of 1 Peter 4:8, this is just a bit of light-hearted blogging. I’m not talking about robbery or murder here.

Oops comes from the saying ‘Oopsy-daisy’. It was a term used when a child stumbled or when encouraging them to get up again. The earliest recorded variant of which is Up-a-daisy (by Jonathan Swift back in 1711). According to the Oxford dictionary oops is used to show recognition of a minor error or accident. So many people hate to admit they are wrong. Oops allows them to admit their fault without embarrassment or guilt.

I have used ‘Oops!’ in so many circumstances. For instance I have used it, when I have accidentally sent an unfinished text mid sentence. When I have called someone by the wrong name, when I have left the door ajar and the heating is on. When deleting a file I should have saved ……….the list is endless.

I was talking to my daughter Anita on the phone over the weekend and she referred to putting some money aside just in case she had an ‘Oops moment’.  Now I have never heard oops used in that vein before. Like it or hate it I think ‘oops’ is here to stay.

By the way there is only one way to cover a multitude of sins really, that’s through going to God and asking for the forgiveness that Jesus procured for you on Calvary.

An image of a man falling down a flight of stairs.

??????????????????????????????????????????????????

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

