You can do it. Blog 20-2016

It’s been so cold this last couple of mornings that I have resorted to wearing my hat when walking. It’s a cross between a beanie and a pixie hat. (Well that’s what we used to call them when I was a child in England.)

It all came about when I was complaining about the cold one day a few years back. My sister Celia suggested I wear a beanie. “I can’t; I hate them,” I whinged. I loathed the feeling of a band around my head. “Besides, my specs get in the way and beanies never cover my ears properly. What I really need is something that ties under the chin.” So Celia decided to make me one. She knitted me my pixie/beanie/scarf and patiently unpicked it till it was the correct fit. She also added long ties so that I could loop them around my neck like a scarf instead of tying them.

Now, I need to explain that Celia had very advanced glaucoma and her vision was just one small spot in the centre of each eye, rather like tunnel vision. In her later years I saw her unpick a patchwork quilt she had originally crafted and remake it because it was damaged. I remember her spreading it out on her bed and getting me to check the colour changes. If it had been mine I would have probably thrown it out. Celia worked on her computer with enlarged print; she produced a couple of children’s stories and her ‘One and only book of poems’ plus a number of other publications.

Except for her immediate circle of friends many acquaintances did not know Celia could hardly see. Her only concern was that people might think she was being rude if she failed to acknowledge them. She could only see someone if they stood directly in front of her. Never once did I hear her say she couldn’t do something because of her eyesight, if it could be done she would do it. Every time I put my hat on I am reminded of her tenacity which never diminished even when she was in the advanced stages of Multiple Myeloma.

The last two lines of the verses from the poem by Edgar Albert Guest come to mind, ‘He started to sing as he tackled the thing that couldn’t be done, and he did it.’  So, what is it you are putting off because you think you can’t do it?  You’ll never know till you try. One of Celia’s favourite verses of scripture was “I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:13 NIV)

Celia and Us

Bill, Celia, Me and Doug at the Melbourne International Flower and Garden show back in the day

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You can do it. Blog 20-2016

  1. belgravian says:

    Veronica.

    I am disappointed you are not wearing the pixie hat.

    Great blog once again.

    I will be publishing my next one today or tomorrow.

    Frank

    ________________________________

  2. Thanks Frank. I look forward to yours.

Leave a Reply

