‘A Very Bunny Mothers Day’ Blog 16-2016

The other day, I saw on Facebook that my cousin Gill had, after a long lapse from the activity, rescued two orphan Cabbage Patch Dolls. I had to smile to myself, for a while there, back in my working days I rescued little Bunnykins figurines. I wandered over to the cabinet in which they live and gazed at them. It was then I felt a blog coming on! The bunnies were standing in the front of the other bits of china and there among them was my very special bunny. He always brings a smile to my face and warms my heart whenever I look at Him.

Back in the day, maybe something like the turn of the century, Anita took Nathaniel to the shops with her.   Nathaniel decided he wanted to buy something for Grandma, so armed with his little wallet he went into the two dollar shop to see what he could purchase.

That’s when he saw it, “Look a bunny!” He exclaimed. “Grandma collects bunnies, she will love it.” And so that is how the little resin bunny takes pride of place in one of my china cabinets and is dearer to me than all the others put together.

Hence I just want to remind you this mother’s day that it’s not in the accumulation of gifts that joy is found. It’s in the thoughts behind them. It’s the funny little item bought at the school Mothers Day Stall or the hand- made card that we will treasure as much as any expensive gift.

Furthermore; for all those who read this blog and find Mother’s Day an extremely sad occasion. Please remember; you are loved, you are special, but most of all, the God who created you will never stop loving you and caring about you. St Paul calls Him the God of all comfort. (2 Corinthians 1:3)

Bunny

My little resin bunny affectionately known as Peter Rabbit because of his blue Jacket

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‘A Very Bunny Mothers Day’ Blog 16-2016

  1. belgravian says:

    Veronica.

    Another goody again. I love the way you get the words of comfort at the end.

    By the way I finally got an image printed on my latest blog.

    Frank

    ________________________________

  2. gill says:

    I do love your bunny figurines, the one with the blue jacket on is my favourite too.

Leave a Reply

