‘…..and trust some more’ Blog 14-2016

We had been in the Dennis Avenue property mentioned in Blog No 13 just on a year when the owner decided to put the house on the market. It had been a good year although we had lost Charlie our Labrador in October, he had been with us for years. The prospective buyers came through the house late afternoon on 24th December 1979. What we didn’t know was that they required vacant possession. If ever a house does not look vacant, it’s on Christmas Eve. The first we knew was when we were asked to leave before settlement day.  Doug stood his ground; we had to find somewhere to live first. The weeks trickled by.

One Sunday Doug declared at church that he was stepping out in faith and we would move out the following weekend. I was not impressed. I couldn’t see how we could possibly find a house in a few days, what was Doug thinking? Didn’t the Bible say don’t put God to a foolish test.  I could see us all ‘out on the street’ by the end of the week.

Doug was praying I was not; I was too stunned to even think about it.  I went to the agents once more to follow up some notices and put our name down for a house in Etiwanda Avenue. I was told there were five other applicants in ahead of us and it was likely we would not be successful. We would know on the Thursday.

It was while Doug was praying. The question came to him, “What do you want in the house?” His response was, “I want a chandelier and glass fronted kitchen cupboards for Veronica to display her china.” When he told me, I couldn’t help laughing, “Chandeliers? Nobody has chandeliers these days, at least not in the sort of house we are looking for.”

Thursday arrived and we were told the house was ours; we had been successful because we were the only applicants without a pet. Poor Charlie his demise had secured us a home. I went to see it and couldn’t wait to tell Doug the news when he got home. Shaking my head in disbelief I saw glass fronted cupboards in the kitchen of this little functional home and a chandelier in the lounge room.

Co-incidences or God-incidences? I know what I believed, although I am so glad I did not know that within three weeks we would be moving again.

Yvette at Dennis

Yvette, at Dennis Avenue, proudly holding up some grapes she had scrumped nearby after the pickers had been.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

