Call the Midwife 3 (see blog 15/02/2016)

As I remarked in my last blog when I was expecting my first baby (Fiona) I was not even a little perturbed that the medical staff of the small Rosebud Hospital were anxious regarding the pre-eclampsia. My mother had continually told me during my pregnancy that I’d be fine. I remembered little of the birth having blacked out a few times. I do recall opening my eyes at one stage to see at least four people around my bed, one of them seemed to be pummelling my kidneys. Initially, I did not see our baby girl because I was confined to bed.

When Doug visited me I tried to elicit more information. According to him she was beautiful but I wanted to know what or whom she really looked like. “Well!” he said, thinking aloud. “She looks like a skun rabbit.” Having been a ‘bushie’ and spent quite a bit of time trapping rabbits in his younger days (see ‘icecreams’ page 212) that did alarm me a little He knew just what a skun rabbit looked like. Holding his hands about fifty centimetres apart he added, “She’s about this long.” Great Help! She was of course much smaller and weighed 4lb 6oz. It was Friday the 13th November 1964. A great day for us.

The following Monday I overheard two cleaning ladies. “Come and look at this dear little prem.” One said to the other. When the night sister came in I complained, “My baby is three days old and I have not seen her, yet everyone else has, even the cleaning ladies”. The sister checked the report sheet on the bottom of my bed. “Well as long as you tell no one I’ll take you to see her.” Later that evening I was wheeled into the nursery and I just sat there, as thousands of girls have, and will, with my hands through the opening of the humidicrib and her little fingers holding on to mine.

How wonderful is the Miracle of birth. I am reminded that the scripture says after the baby is born you forget the anguish for the joy of the birth. (John 16:21) I don’t think you ever forget the pain however, once the baby is born it fades into insignificance. Until the next time that is.

Two things I have learned. Never ask your husband for a description of your newborn and secondly trust your mother, she generally knows what she is talking about.

IMG_20160222_0001

Doug, looking adoringly at his little ‘skun rabbit’.

 

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

