Let’s keep Christmas (2)

Today as I commence this blog we are having a little weather glitch well known to Victorians. Yesterday was 33 deg with a hot blustery northerly wind. Global warming personified. Today, however we are having global cooling. On our morning walk it was so cold, rainy and the wind so strong that I had my transparent umbrella pulled down over my head. I was trying, as best I could, to create my own little micro climate. Doug on the other hand was threatening to do a Mary Poppins with his umbrella. By the time this gets posted who knows what will have happened with our changeable weather. As they say of Melbourne, four seasons in one day.

 I mentioned in my last blog that I had a sixty year old copy of ‘Let’s Keep Christmas’ A sermon by Peter Marshall. When I read it now I am struck by how contemporary the issues he raises are. It seems that though there are changes all around us some things never change. Peter Marshall passed away in 1949 so prior to this date he was saying that at Christmas time the traffic is terrible, there are no parking spaces available and the stores are crowded. He also notes that people are saying they don’t know what to buy and trying to be sophisticated saying that Christmas is only for the children. It all sounds so familiar.

 As I write, the strains of the song ‘There is a Redeemer’ are reaching me from the CD player in the lounge room. It’s a pianoforte solo with band accompaniment and I think to myself. Now there is something that hasn’t changed, actually someone who hasn’t changed. Jesus, the same today, yesterday and forever (Heb 13:8). Christmas is all about God reaching down to man, sending his only Son as a babe in a manger, so that he might redeem his people. The crowds don’t matter, the traffic doesn’t matter, all that matters is that we remember that God, in His great love, broke out of eternity and into time that night in Bethlehem.

IMG_20151130_0001.jpg

‘There is a Redeemer’ sung originally by Keith Green (Lyrics by Melody Green) back in the early eighties is now in many church hymn/song books.

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

