Stuck on Patience

It seems we all have a little problem with patience. While my mother was a trifle impatient I always thought I was fairly patient. Well! That was until I had to go to the vascular clinic the other day. The clinic is held in a small outbuilding at the back of our local hospital. Apart from a very small area for waiting in, the rest of us were seated along the walls of the corridor leading to the consulting rooms.  Initially the air was unventilated and I was glad I am not claustrophobic. (Eventually someone did open a door to let a breeze come through.)

 I whispered to Doug, I feel like little Steven, I want to call out ‘I’m tuck, I’m tuck’ (Stuck). Two year old Steven is always in a hurry, so, when you are trying to undo the straps of his pusher or high chair, he is fighting you to get out as fast as possible. Consequently, either his foot will get caught underneath him or some other part of his body will get wedged and he will call out ‘I’m tuck. I’m tuck’. He gets himself in predicaments all the time because of his eagerness to be on the go.

 My mum always used to sigh ‘patience is a virtue’ when we were in an impulsive hurry. But then I think mums have been doing that since the 14th century when the phrase seems to have first been mentioned. Another of her quotations was ‘possess your soul in patience’ which Mothers have probably also been saying for 2000 years since Jesus first exhorted his disciples. St Paul tells us that patience is like a piece of clothing we have to willingly ‘Put it on” Col 3:12. Now! Tell me, how do I teach that to a two year old?

 By the way I did ‘put on patience’ and two hours later I was told that as I am asymptomatic I can ‘hit the road’ and not come back.

Steven_1447886873746

Steven strapped in his pusher last Christmas

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

