Those blooming birds!

Our front windows which face west are reflective. We arranged to have them Solar Tinted when we first arrived here. This cuts down the glare and gives us privacy without using lace curtains. It has been nearly five years and till now the only problem we have experienced is an occasional bird accidentally flying into them.

However, recently things have changed. It all started early one morning when I was lying in bed and could hear a tapping sound on the window. Opening the drapes I found one little Crested pigeon tapping away at the glass. He can’t really do any damage because the tinting is on the inside of the window. At first I speculated, did he think he had found a mate or was he a bit narcissistic and liked the look of himself?

Doug thinks he’s special, but then Doug is fond of all our feathered friends. Crested pigeons which are sometimes mistakenly called Topknot pigeons are native to Australia. When I went out to shoo him away I found that he had visited a number of times before and left his calling cards on the window ledge. Since then I have discovered our pigeon has brought along another two friends to join him in his percussion band. Sadly I have also exposed a grumpy streak in me which I might have hitherto denied.

What to do? I don’t know! It’s not breeding time particularly as they breed throughout the year and I have seen no elaborate mating displays. Maybe they are just vain. Either way I need to figure out what to do so I am not continually being woken up. As for my grumpiness at having to run outside to shoo them away, Doug reminds me of the words of St Paul which tells us that we should rejoice in our suffering because, “Suffering produces endurance and endurance produces character……” Romans 5:3-4

Oops! So is he saying this is all doing me good?

.250px-Pigeon-Crested

 This is a picture of the offending ‘person of interest.’ They apparently love Salvation Jane (Paterson’s Curse) so if you have a patch near you would you like to extend an invitation.

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

