Fathers’

I recently watched the current series of ‘Father Brown’ on the ABC. For those who don’t know Father Brown is a Priest-Detective who solves mystery type crimes, mostly murders. Based on G K Chesterton’s short stories, these episodes often include someone making their confession. As I begin to write this Blog for the first time in a month, I feel like saying “Father I have sinned it has been one month since my last confession-blog”. The truth is that I have been the recipient of the most awful virus which has laid many Victorians low. So, I am really pleased that I even feel like blogging.

The thought of Father Brown leads me to memories of my own father, it being Fathers Day next Sunday. As a teenager I would buy dad a large box of Cadburys Milk Tray chocolates. My father would graciously open the box and offer us one.  As usual we always picked the soft centres, (my sister Celia and I both hated nuts). By the time the day was over all dad had left with were the nutty ones which no one else wanted to eat.

Our girls could always wind Doug around their little finger and now he is a grandfather nothing much has changed. He has a special relationship with Luke our four year old grandson who just adores him. I wonder if it is something to do with Doug being a ‘stand in’ Dad. A few months back Luke said to his mum “Mummy, I lost my Daddy,” she responded with the offer, “I’ll tell you what Luke, you can share my Daddy”. We may never know whether Luke took her up on the offer or not, but either way, Grandad certainly has a special place in Luke’s heart.

Verse 5 of Psalm 68 says that God is a Father to the Fatherless. What a wonderful statement! For so many people Fathers day can be a painful time of loss and grief, so I want to remind us all that we have another Father, God Himself. He has promised to be a father to us, to love us, to teach us and protect us. What’s more, if we accept His offer He will be pleased to call us His children.

Doug with Nathaniel & John

Doug – over twenty years ago – with two of his grandsons Nathaniel & Johnathon.

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

