You never forget the lessons you learn the hard way.

The old Cornish Kitchen Range seemed a behemoth to me and as a rule we children were mostly kept out of the kitchen and were warned about its danger.  I realized I was falling face first towards its burning surface after I somehow lost my balance. In a split second I knew I would have to sacrifice my right hand to save my face. I think it was angel power which enabled me to push myself away and regain my balance. Miraculously; although my hand and fingers were seared, only the top section of my ring finger was badly burned. Even now as I recall this I can still smell the odour of scorching flesh.

 The sign reads, ‘Wet Paint, Do not touch,’ but is it still wet? Maybe it’s dry by now? You can’t resist touching. Now you have wet paint on your hand and no way to clean it off. You go to get a hanky or tissue out of your pocket but it’s in your right pocket and you have paint on your right hand. The situation would be almost farcical it you were not in a hurry and late for an appointment,

 It’s true that for the majority of us today the painful lessons in life don’t have to be learned twice.  After our fingers have been burnt we are not so keen to try the same thing again. However, I must admit there have been occasions when I have made the same mistake twice. Perhaps I’m a slow learner.

 Albert Einstein is quoted as saying “The person who never makes a mistake will never make anything.” Actually he said, “A person who never made a mistake never made anything new.” In life we are all going to make mistakes which may or may not teach us important lessons. So let’s just get on with it. As someone once said “A fellow who never makes a mistake must get tired of doing nothing.”

Range_for_Website

The Cornish range still made today by JW Engineering in Camborne , Cornwall

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

