Remember

I asked Anita, my daughter if she had any Christmas memories about which I could blog. “I’ll think about it.” She promised, as she hung up the phone. “If I do I’ll let you know.” Within seconds she was back on the phone. “Do you remember the Christmas in Mildura when you bought us the dolls?”  Well, yes, I did, however I didn’t think it was eventful enough to blog about, then she reminded me. In early 1978 while I was shopping with the three younger girls, they spied some pretty dolls which were marked down though still fairly costly. “I like this one,” Anita was saying. “She is like me brown hair and brown eyes.” They continued to excitedly discuss which one could be theirs while I stood by noting their chatter. My heart warmed with the idea of the surprise I could give them at Christmas time. Later that day I returned alone and placed the dolls on lay-by convinced the girls would be thrilled with them.

Soon after this we spent six months in the north of Tasmania living in a beach house at Low Head. (See icecreams page 177) On winter nights we would sit snugly around the big open fireplace while the storms raged outside. As the weather warmed we would wander along the beach to the lighthouse collecting shells and pieces of petrified wood. Arriving back in Victoria just days before Christmas, I was thankful that the girl’s main presents had already been purchased. On Christmas day however, there was no sign of delight as they opened their gifts. It was such a non-event.  “Don’t you remember these dolls?” I questioned. “These are the ones you chose for yourselves in the shop window early in the year.” “No!” They chorused with blank looks on their faces. “We don’t remember.”

What‘s the lesson here? I suppose it could be, Remember; time changes everything. Or; do not worry about things you can’t afford now because in a few months time your children will have forgotten all about them. Or maybe; it could be some of the best gifts are not purchased in a shop. (The girls still remember with enthusiasm those six months at Low head). 

But wait!  there’s more….Maybe the biggest lesson here is to remember to appreciate the greatest gift of all, that God stepped out of eternity and into time, just at the right time. “But when the right time came…. He sent is son….to buy freedom for us all.” Gal 4:4a & 5a LB

Low Head

On the back lawn which ended at the waters edge.

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remember

  1. Reblogged this on Veronica Nowell – Author and commented:

    This morning I felt impressed to re-blog this one and maybe one of two of my old ones for all those new readers of my blogs.

Leave a Reply

