It’s in the bag

My shoulder bag had died but I waited until we went to London to buy a new one. The Idea was that every time I wore it I would be reminded of our amazing holiday. The girls took us to a great shop called Accessorize where I found just what I wanted. However, when we arrived back in Australia it beeped every time I went through the sensors at the shops. This was fine at my local shopping centre where I am known but it was very embarrassing in the department stores. (Have you noticed that if you are the protagonist the beep sounds so much louder?) On one occasion I was asked to stand aside in the presence of quite a few customers to allow the assistant to check my bags.  Finally, I was over the disparaging looks and started to shop for a new bag. While we were in Sydney in September, Shannen, our granddaughter took us to a shop named ‘Collette’ where I found just what I wanted.

Problem solved? No! My new bag started to beep as well. I could not believe it. Fiona suggested it might be my wallet. However, that was not likely because I had owned the wallet for a few years. It had never beeped prior to the arrival of the London bag. Apart from that both the wallet and the bag had been emptied and gone over with a ‘reader’ by the friendly girls at my local shopping centre. “Let me see,” Fiona exclaimed as she reached for the wallet and emptied it. Sure enough, there was a small adhesive bar-code wedged in the bottom of one of the tiny card pockets.

So now I have two shoulder bags the dressy one from Collette and my sentimental London one which is great for when I am out walking. Why did the wallet not beep for the two years prior to the purchase of the London Bag? I have no idea! However, I have learned a couple of valuable lessons from the experience.

(a) The well known “If at first you don’t succeed……..!!!!!!

(b) Don’t jump to conclusions however obvious something seems to be.

Isaiah prophesied about Jesus 700 years BC “He will not judge by appearance, false evidence or hearsay……for he will be clothed with fairness and with truth.”    Now there is an example for us all. (Isaiah 11:3 & 5 Living Bible)

Left the London bag right the Collette bag

two bags

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

