What do you say, when you don’t know what to say?

She meant well, the girl who was trying to be enthusiastic about the future when I was really stuck right in ‘the now’. I remember it like it was yesterday even though it was 23 years ago. I was so wishing she would just leave me alone but in my foggy state didn’t have the presence of mind to excuse myself. And then it happened! As I moved off I came face to face with Pauline. I can see her look of concern now. “Oh Veronica!” she exclaimed. “You lost your little Grandson, I am so sorry; I don’t know what to say.” In those very words she had said just what I needed to hear. She had identified with my pain, she had showed she cared, and in admitting that her words were inadequate she had touched my heart and shared my grief. I promised myself that I would never forget what that meant to me.

So, what do you say when you don’t know what to say? I’m not academically qualified in any way to tell you or give you keys to use. However, I think generally speaking words are not what a grieving person needs. They just need someone to appreciate where they are at, to listen and to genuinely care.

Bens Birthday

L to R: Shane, Brianna and Fiona celebrating Ben’s second birthday.

(Ben was with us for eight days before he passed away. See ‘ice creams’ page 294)

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What do you say, when you don’t know what to say?

  1. autumnmiss says:

    thats very good advice Veronica, I always struggle to know what to do or say to people suffering like that.
    I hope you know that we are always here for you and your family, thinking of you and sending our love
    Gill xxxxx

  2. Anita Jones says:

    Well said mum, I don’t think anyone could have said it better. Anita 🙂

Leave a Reply

