Unique

This week I received a message from a friend with whom I had lost touch.  She had just read ‘ice creams” and wanted to tell me how much she enjoyed it. We used to see each other every Sunday as we attended the same church and would always have a chat. Why do I mention this? Because this person is one of those beautiful ladies you can’t help but like and admire. Not only is she lovely on the inside but she is always beautifully groomed and has the knack of putting the right pieces of clothing and Jewellery together. So Clever!

If you had read ‘a farthing cone’ you will understand why I admit to feeling a little envious. I am the daughter of little Patty Symes who was anything but elegant. Having the same genes I often seemed to rip the waistline of my dresses while climbing trees (I loved climbing trees) and ribbons rarely stayed in my hair for long. In fact, school photo’s show me looking as if my hair had not been combed for a week.

Why am I telling you this? Because I was thrilled to get the note from someone I admired and also to remind you that like me you are an individual. You may not have the gifts or talents that others have but you are unique. God has made you with your own special abilities and we all probably should remember this when we are tempted to wish we were more like someone else. I can write a true story without any invention and it will be interesting. You may be able to design and build a beautiful garden. My story may not be Pulitzer prize winning and your garden my not win a coveted award but together we can use what we have to make the world a better place.

Hair

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Memories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unique

  1. autumnmiss says:

    beautifully said as always Veronica
    Gill xxx

Leave a Reply

