Knees

Have you noticed how easily a conversation can wander all over the place?  Early last Sunday morning while we were on our walk I remarked to Doug that the air was very cold considering we were expecting a 26deg day. Allowing for daylight saving the actual time would have been about 6am.  There was a mist up ahead of us over the hills and the view was very enchanting.

Doug remarked, “Just think you are going to Knee drill”. Well that was out of left field, a blast from the past if ever I heard one. “Where did that come from?” I asked, I couldn’t for the life of me imagine how the view before us had reminded him of Knee drill. Back in the day, Knee drill was the name of the early morning Prayer Meeting held before the Sunday services in the Salvo’s, generally spent on your knees in prayer.

We got to talking about getting down on our knees which I remembered I did with great aplomb one day in my early years at Cameron’s. However, it wasn’t for prayer. Before the first floor extensions some of us had offices in a house across the road. One day as I was ascending the concrete steps to the front door, busily looking at Gail, the boss’s secretary instead of where I was going, I tripped and landed on both of my knees. She was watching me through the window and came rushing out to see why I had disappeared. She burst into uproarious laughter. “One minute you were there, and the next you weren’t.” she spluttered as I looked up at her from my undignified position. As far as I remember Gail was no help she was still having hysterics as I hoisted myself up. By this time I was laughing with the shock of the fall too. It still makes me giggle.

My knees have never been the same since so they rarely get knelt on. Now that reminds me, I still haven’t asked Doug why on earth he made that remark.

Back in the day

Doug and I with Fiona back in the day.

  1. PS. It was the crisp early morning, it reminded him of riding his bicycle to the Army when he was twenty. (He was 79 yesterday)
About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knees

  1. gill edwards says:

    oh happy late birthday wishes Doug, i hope you had a fab birthday surrounded by your loving family. Im sending you a hug from us all here.
    Gill xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

