Names

On our early morning walk yesterday morning I noticed the Coles (supermarket) delivery trucks were all named. What a good way to identify individual trucks and much easier to remember than a registration number. You may have noticed that Planes also have their own names. In 1926 Qantas named its first planes after figures from Greek mythology and currently their A380 Airbuses are being named after famous aviators.

We always name our cars for easy identification and probably if I’m honest as terms of endearment. At present we have two Magna’s at our place (Yvette’s) has the Registration number prefix PHC so to remember it we named it ‘Pretty Healthy Chic’ ours is SAZ so she is named Sazzy.

I was named after a Movie Star whom I took an instant dislike to the moment I found out. Doug’s second name is Henry after Prince Henry of York who was in Australia for a 67 day visit the year before he was born. (Prince Henry later became the Duke of Gloucester and served as the 11th Governor General to Australia.)

I am sure if I asked you whom you were named after there would be some interesting stories to tell, in fact you can tell me by replying to this blog if you like.

Not being good at remembering names I often end up trying to describe the person to Doug as he rarely forgets a name. I was feeling a bit overwhelmed with all that is going on in my world this morning when the line of a chorus from an old Salvation Army Musical came to mind.

“For his love remains the same, He knows you by your name”*

I hummed the tune as I let the words sink in. My world may be changing quicker than I would wish but God’s love for me hasn’t changed and he knows me personally. What is more he never forgets my name, or yours.

Thank you God that your love for us hasn’t changed and that you haven’t forgotten our names, in fact you choose to remember them.

IMG_20140429_0006

I’m no Movie Star but he’s my Prince.

(*The song ‘His love remains the same’ is from the Musical ‘Hosea” lyrics by John Larsson and can be ‘googled’)

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Names

  1. Jacqui Conlon says:

    I was named after my two grandmas. Maternal grandma was Lillie Jacqueline Maude, but always known by her middle name, shortened to Jacque (pronounced Jake). Paternal grandma was Annie, and she never acknowledged that I was named after her, as my second name is Ann, not Annie. So there you are. But I’m glad, too, that God knows my name.

  2. gill edwards says:

    My mum never said why she called me Gillian but i do know my middle name of Ann is after her mum and my grandmother, Ann Sophia Peters. As for cars we name all ours too, the first one after i met Mike was called Madge, after the character in Neighbours, second was Henry after Mike’s dad and current one is called Robin as the colour is Sherwood Green. I love naming inanimate objects.
    Great post as usual Veronica
    lots of love
    Gill xxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

