Document that!

Last week when Doug and I walked to the shops, about an hour before lunch his blood glucose level dropped, so he sat down in the food court and had a snack while I went in to the shops. On the way back home (only five minutes away) we got to talking about my Dad and his walk from the city (Melbourne) to Dandenong back in 1952 recorded in ‘ice creams” page 156. Someone had seen my father walking along dehydrated and with low blood sugar and presumed he was drunk.  This person would have known that Dad, being a Salvationist was very unlikely to be a drinker. Whether that person owned a car and could have offered him a lift, had they not assumed he was drunk, I do not know.  I now live on the other side of Dandenong, in Endeavour Hills and though I am a keen walker I can’t imagine walking that far. Mr ‘Google’ tells me that the 30 minute car journey would take six hours and 33 minutes via the most direct route. I really can’t imagine how my father made it.

Why do we do that? Why do we make snap judgements about people whether we know them or not and then assuming we are correct, can’t wait to tell someone else. When I first met my son in-law David he was at university and whenever you told him something he would say, “Document that!” I guess he’d learnt this from his lecturers. I’ve tried to make it a rule to live by when passing on information. If I can’t prove who said it, or where it came from with some sort of documented evidence, then I don’t repeat it. If I think the information is important enough to share I will point out that I can’t document it. We are so blessed with the Internet and its search engines because you can easily document most things in a matter of minutes these days. Jesus said in Matthew chapter 7:1, “Do not Judge….” So, I’m going to try even harder to follow this directive.

Dad with us on the Docks at Glasgow some weeks before the Incident.

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Document that!

  1. autumnmiss says:

    I am guilty of judging people too quickly, its something I am always trying to improve. Its amazing what people did in the past. My mum used to tell me how she walked to work for miles during the war in the pitch dark and thankfully no harm used to come to her.
    Gill xxx

Leave a Reply

