Oxford – learning

Each morning Doug and I go for a walk before breakfast. A couple of days ago as we were strolling along we got to talking about Oxford. I was wearing my Oxford rowing club Tee shirt, (been there and bought the tee shirt.) I jokingly stated, “Well now I’ve been to Oxford everyone will think I’m quite learned.” “So if you’ve been to Oxford what did you learn?” Doug rquestioned. Well now I was stumped, what did I learn? Slowly it all came back to me. I recounted. “Teaching existed at Oxford in some form in the eleventh century but development was speeded up approximately seventy years later when Henry II banned English students from attending the University of Paris. The University officially became known as such in 1231.” I remembered the date because it says so on my Tee. “The University is made up of some thirty eight colleges and each college has its own Chapel.” I stopped to observe. “I always think of a Chapel as an area adjacent to, or inside a Church which is set aside for smaller gatherings. The one we went into was no chapel as we think of it, it was a whacking great church. In fact all over the skyline of Oxford you can see spires everywhere” I paused again.”Is that enough? I can tell you about the Bodleian Library and the student bikes everywhere if you like?” Doug put his hands up in fake surrender and said “OK, you did learn something.”
Today I googled the Motto of the University which is “Dominus Illuminatio Mea” It means, ‘The Lord is my Light’. These are the opening words of Psalm 27. What a great motto. It doesn’t matter how much I learn if I don’t experience the Lord as my Light then I am living in Darkness. Not only that but, if you read on in this Psalm of David you will find he is saying that because the Lord is his light there is nothing, ever, anywhere that he needs to fear.
What a great Psalm to hold onto.

Image

 

Yvette studying the stained Glass windows

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

