The Whitestone Pond

Before I leave Hampstead I have to mention the Whitestone Pond. At the top of Heath St Hampstead, it sits opposite the small Whitestone Gardens. The pond was originally used for watering horses after they had trudged up the hill and used for over 100 years by little boys and adults for sailing boats.  In ‘a farthing cone’ my mother  was often taken for a walk on Sunday afternoons, past the pond and  up the Spaniards Road to Jack Straws castle and beyond. On one such afternoon they returned to find the Salvation Army, all female band holding an open-air meeting at the pond. It was the beginning of a lifelong association. My mother loved people, always putting others before herself. Although I look like my mother I’m different in lots of ways. She was impetuous, enthusiastic and unpredictable, whereas I am cautious, hopefully show some enthusiasm but am very predictable.  I laugh as I recall her saying to me not so many years back. “Oh Veronica! you are no fun, you are so boring.” However I like to think that some of her love for people has rubbed off on me and that any care I might show someone is always genuine.

 

Image 

Image

Image

Top: Doug and Brianna in the Gardens. Centre: In front of Jack Straws Castle Bottom: The Whitestone Pond

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Whitestone Pond

  1. Pingback: The Whitestone Pond | Veronica Nowell - Author

Leave a Reply

