it’s a small world.

Back in February I shared how I had tracked down, Alwyn Evans who with his wife was one of the first to attend our outreach in Myrtleford many years ago. As I mentioned I sent him a copy of ‘icecreams’. Well! His daughter Elizabeth (Lizzy) still lives in the town and she read the book too. Now would you believe it Lizzy happens to be the District Nurse. A few of weeks ago I received the following response on a blog. “I have a family connection to the people in chapter eight of your book about the Beechworth and Myrtleford Salvation Army.” When I read the name I recognized it straight away. It was Bev Allen’s daughter Sharon. Bev was the young Mum who with her own mother and three daughters was part of the new work at Myrtleford. It so happened that Lizzy, in her role as the district nurse had taken the book with her when she visited Bev’s brother on her rounds. It was she who pointed out that the Allen family were in the book. I followed up Sharon’s message and called her. Then both Doug and I had a lovely long conversation with Bev. Afterwards we posted off a couple of the books. (So they could read more than just Chapter eight). It may be a small world but ours is growing bigger every day.

This is the only photo I have of the Allen,s it was taken in late 1975 while we were on furlough. We had made a trip see the snow at the back of Stanley, unfortunately Bev was not in the picture. Left to right are Margaret and Robyn Allen, Ellen (A girl we were caring for at the time) Sharon Allen and Fiona. (I’m right in the back) Front row Stephen Allen , Yvette, Meredith and Anita. (and our rather damp dog Charlie)

Image

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to it’s a small world.

  1. Pingback: it’s a small world. | Veronica Nowell - Author

  2. autumnmiss says:

    it is amazing how these connections are made isnt it. I am so enjoying your blog, its like mini chapters of a new book.

    Gill x

  3. Jill Waller says:

    I love the photos of this era – they bring back such fond memories for me – thankyou

Leave a Reply

