Auntie Mabel King (nee Nowell)

You will recall in my last blog I explained how we miraculously bumped into Aunty Lil’s granddaughters Julie and Hilary last Wednesday. Julie told us  it might be a good idea if we catch up with her Mum,  soon as she was now in High Care. So on Saturday we did. It was  almost a sacred experience and its only now I feel I can talk about it. For those who have not read my trilogy ‘icecreams’, Mabel is the daughter of Edward and Lillian Nowell.  I quote from the trilogy page 209 “We knocked on the back door and walked straight in “Auntie Lil, this is Doug.” My father informed her without much ado. She immediately reached out and pulled me towards her and gave me the biggest hug, “So this is Dougie?” There was genuine affection in her voice: my heart melted. I could feel the love radiating from her, it was almost tangible. Somehow I knew that here was someone who would love me for myself and whom I could trust. “

 and again I quote mention of Mabel from the trilogy page 211 :- “The only skirmish I had at Auntie Lil’s was when Mabel asked me to get into the back of their Chevrolet utility. I refused to as it was already quite full, “Get in there my boy and I will deal with you later.” She was really cross, and knowing I was no match for her, I meekly got into the vehicle.  When we arrived home, I was given three whacks across the bottom and sent to bed without any tea. Later on Mabel came in to me and said, “Come and get some tea my boy and don’t you ever disobey me again.” I never did and as I write this, Mabel is the same beautiful lady her mother was.”

We walked into a communal room at the care centre and there was Mabel, she looked up and smiled not remembering who I was and then she saw Doug. “Doug, Doug,” she exclaimed as he walked towards her. “I have been thinking about you.” reaching out towards him she clasped his hands. “My beautiful, beautiful boy she kept exclaiming, “How glad I am to see you, I loved you so much, my beautiful boy. Oh! my beautiful boy do you remember my Mother she loved you so much too.” Doug and I were sitting there with tears streaming down our faces. I don’t think I will ever forget that visit. We would talk to her about other things and then she would repeat over again, “Oh Doug, my beautiful, beautiful boy.”  Doug, as most of you know is no longer a boy but Mabel I’m sure was seeing the boy she new.  Twice she said to me, “I’m sorry dear I don’t know who you are?” and so we had to explain but she certainly knew who Doug was. We spent about an hour with her, Doug holding her hands all the time, she asked him to pray with her and so he quietly prayed for about fifteen minutes and we slipped away as she drifted off to sleep. 

Our Cousin Kevin has a photo of Doug’s school days but we have yet to get it from him so this is the only one we have.

 Image

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Auntie Mabel King (nee Nowell)

  1. gill edwards says:

    what an amazing moment that must have been. I recall that chapter of your book had me in tears too. Lucky Doug to have someone love him so much finally.

Leave a Reply

