We are from the Nowell clan

After two weeks holiday running here and there I had a total blank when it came to writing a blog this week. However, today something amazing happened. It all started on Monday. I belong to the facebook group, “I’m from the Nowell clan” and promised my cousins Vivienne  Cox and Kevin Spokes to get the contact details of Hilary a granddaughter of Auntie Lil and Uncle Ted. If you have read my book ‘ice creams’ you will know that Auntie Lil was a very special Aunt.  Well as I said, on Monday I rang Julie Spiller, another of Auntie Lil’s granddaughters and left a message with Lyndon her husband. I had already suggested to Vivienne that I’d have the information for her by Monday night. Having heard nothing back, I expected Vivienne would be thinking my promises were easily broken. In the meantime I was quite busy on Tuesday and then this afternoon went to the funeral of my friend Gail’s Dad at the Springvale Garden Cemetery.  Afterwards, we sat outside of one of the function areas with our cuppa’s. As we were talking a couple walked behind me and I heard Doug say, I know that young lady. Would you believe it? It was Hilary and her husband Kevin. Not only were they next door with a group from another funeral, Julie and Lyndon were there too. For my overseas readers  Melbourne’s size is 8806.Square kilometres (or 3400 square miles).the population of Melbourne is four Million and there are dozens of cemeteries all over the city and suburbs. Both couples mentioned live many suburbs north and east of us. What’s the chances of us going to two separate funerals in the same cemetery with five chapels and a number of function areas and being at a function side by side. This was no chance meeting! Needless to say I got the information and have now passed it on. What a Joy! how blessed we are.

PS.This morning Lyndon had suggested to Julie that we might meet at the funeral and she explained to him that their funeral was for a totally different side of the family.  This morning also Hilary, having received my message had remarked  to Kevin that she must get in touch with me and Lyndon? well he turned out to be right.

Image

 The six Nowell’s at Low Head (near George Town) Tasmania during our semi Sabbatical. 1979. Back left Fiona, Doug and I. Front Left Anita, Yvette and Meredith.

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We are from the Nowell clan

  1. Pingback: We are from the Nowell clan | Veronica Nowell - Author

  2. gill edwards says:

    I just love those kind of coincidences, it does make you wonder if there is more to it.

Leave a Reply

