Are you a finisher?

Twenty plus years ago, just after I started a new job, I was threatened over the phone by an irate customer whose  credit  had been stopped. “I have a gun here and I’m driving down to shoot you.” he said in absolute frustration. He was very,very, angry. The situation could have been resolved had he been a finisher. He had, over time many unpaid or part paid invoices amounting to thousands of dollars which stretched back about three years. This was because he had the habit of only paying the part of an invoice which he allocated to  a particular Job.  He was in fact using us to cost his projects. It worked in theory but not in practice because after many months and many warnings he still had not picked up the differences. His was a large business and he most probably had a workshop full of stock he had not paid for. Now, of course he had tradesmen standing around not able to get on with the job. It all could have been resolved within minutes had he walked into his local branch with a cheque. But no! he didn’t want to pay until he had time to allocate the unpaid product. I am a finisher, no praise to me, its just the way I’m wired. I hate to leave jobs or situations unresolved.  In my earlier years I have been known to unpick and rework a garment half a dozen times to get it right, I would never throw it in the corner and give up, especially in the 1970’s when crocheting was all the rage. There are of course some situations and circumstances in life which are out of our control, that’s the time we need to pray. There are countless statements in the Bible about God being a finisher.  Hebrews 12:2 and Philippians 1:6, are just a couple of instances. So when circumstances are out of my control I just hand them over to God, in time I have seen Him resolve every one of them.

 Image

This picture was taken in Echuca in early 1972 under the Liquid Amber tree. (not very flattering to me) That’s my mum in the middle with Yvette. Celia (my sister) and I stayed up till 2am to finish these outfits for a special occasion.                                                          P.S. The tradesman got his wife to liaise with me and we ended up with quite a cordial relationship. His credit never went on stop again.

 

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Are you a finisher?

  1. I forgot to mention, I stood my ground and he paid before the day was out.

  2. gill edwards says:

    good for you. I have to admit that i am not a finisher myself at least not when it comes to crafts. I have so many un finished items over the years because i cant follow the pattern or i have gone wrong and dont know how to fix it. I do lack patience but am improving all the time and dont usually start something unless i can finish it now. xx

  3. Anita Jones says:

    I am a finisher…With a mother like Veronica who can help it!
    I remember at the age of eleven, twelve and thirteen struggling, crying, and yelling out to mum in frustration. Why? Because of my knitting of course…I would drop a stitch or end up with something not as it should be. Mum would patiently and quietly pick up that lost stitch for me, sometimes twenty rows behind. Or she would tell me I would have to unravel the previous weeks work to repair the damage…Then she would help me by making sure I had every stitch back on its needle just as it should have been… I am sure ther were times she was not so patient with her thoughts towards me…but she never really showed it….Thanks mum …Anita xx

    Proverbs 31:28 Her Children arise and call her blessed.

  4. Pingback: Are you a finisher? | Veronica Nowell - Author

Leave a Reply

