It’s Winter

Today its a cold, slightly wet winters morning here in Endeavour Hills. How blessed are we! Although they say its going to be a chilly 13 deg. most days this week, that’s probably as low as it will get this winter. I think last winter we had a daytime low of 11 deg. In some parts of the world 13 deg is considered blessedly warm. We will have no avalanches, no frozen water pipes and no multi car pile-ups on slippery roads covered with ice and snow.  Yesterday,  Yvette and I were out driving between intermittent showers and sunshine. Being one for statistics and numbers I remarked to her that Friday will be the shortest day of the year. She burst into laughter. “I was only telling Linda (her girlfriend) this week, every winter just when I get to the point that I’ve had enough. Mum will say, don’t worry! its the shortest day of the year tomorrow.” Was it my Mum’s eternally optimistic view of life that rubbed off on me? The many titles of the ‘Pollyanna’ books she purchased for me to read? The introduction of Monty Python by my son’s in Law and the Eric Idle song, ‘Always look on the bright side of life – Whistle, Whistle?’  I don’t know, but I do know and agree with the statement in Proverbs 17:22 which tells us that being cheerful is good Medicine so I’ll go with that.  The Photo is of Mum and me at my Brothers house in Detention River, Tasmania just a couple of years before she passed away.

Image

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Winter

  1. Pingback: It’s Winter | Veronica Nowell - Author

  2. autumnmiss says:

    Thats a very true statement and i do my best to be cheerful about most things. What a great photo of you and your mum. And you are right 13 degrees is considered almost summer here lol x

Leave a Reply

