Memories are made of this

As all my immediate family know, I’m a minimalist and a ‘chucker-outer’ and any treasures I do have are carefully stored away. Doug went down to the garage today to find his Allen keys, and as he doesn’t have a shed, his stuff is in big tubs, in shall we say, random order? He was about to tackle the fourth tub when I went down there and suggested we just buy a new set. “No!” he responded, “they will be here, they’re in Grandma’s old button box.” Grandma who? I asked as we’ve been grandparents for just on  22 years ourselves. He looked at me incredulously and said, “Grandma Eliza’s of course! whose do you think?”  He bent down and picked up a battered little tin which has kicked around his sheds for all our married life. ” Here they are!”  he declared triumphantly. “I knew I wouldn’t have lost them.” Those who have read ‘ice creams’ know that grandma Eliza died about seventy years ago so I can assure you her little button box, Allen Keys and all, will live in the little drawer at the bottom of my china cabinet. It is the only thing we have that was hers.  Well, I think so, maybe I’d better ask.

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Memories are made of this

  1. Vivienne Cox says:

    I am the other Hoarder & Keeper and for ever getting into trouble because of the junk I have. All my little treasures, each has a purpose or a memory. What a great treasure Doug has kept, not the keys so much but the memories of his Grandma. ❤

  2. Mike is just like that, he knows where to find all his tools and his tins of all sorts. What a lovely heirloom though

  3. Anita Jones says:

    I burst into laughter when I read this one…I could picture dads incredulous look….Priceless. Dad congratulations you managed to salvage something all your married life without mum throwing it out.! Mum bravo the bottom draw of the china cabinet is where it belongs. I want to see it when I visit. XXX Anita

  4. Thanks for the reply, we both had a laugh.

  5. Jill waller says:

    I am not sure if this is the button box I remember as a small child but it could be as we lived with Uncle Doug when I was young. I loved looking in it and I remember beautiful little mother of pearl buttons and I was fascinated by it.

  6. Jennifer London says:

    I would love to see a pic of Grandma Elizas Button Box. It would be great to actually see something that belonged to my Great Grandmother.xxx

Leave a Reply

