The Tie That Binds

Yesterday I received an email from my cousin Wendy in the UK who had just read my blog. I was so chuffed to receive it and I remembered how I grew up thinking I had no cousins at all. (My mother being an only child and my father’s brother being a bachelor.) (See ice creams page  94) I counted the most direct cousins I know about and there are seven of them. Wendy, Peter, Liz, Ann, Jane, Michael and Colin. I went to bed thinking that there was a much simpler relationship here. Sure they are related back to my great grandmother and therefore my second third or fourth cousins, (I’m never too sure which it is.) It all seems so obscure. There had to be a more direct link than that. In the night it dawned on me, I got up and wrote it down so I wouldn’t forget. The common denominator that links us together like a bunch of helium balloons tied to a gossamer thread, fragile, but still strong enough to hold is.:- .our grandmother’s were all sisters.  I know I’m a little ‘potty’ but I love that, I feel so much closer to them all.

Family is so special, if you have been out of touch with yours lately; you know what to do.

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Tie That Binds

  1. not potty at all. You know how much i love family history and i think thats because i am an only child with no parents left alive so all those ancestors make me feel warm and part of a bigger family.

    Gill xxx

  2. Anita Jones says:

    I love your entry mum…
    The common denominator that links us together like a bunch of helium balloons tied to a gossamer thread, fragile, but still strong enough to hold is.:- .our grandmother’s were all sisters.
    Seeing that I am one of your four girls i love the idea that ,in the future, our children’s, children may be in contact with each other…
    love Anita

Leave a Reply

