We all need to be loved by someone.

I’ve been trying to think what would be some of my favourite lines in ‘ice creams’ and probably it would be where Doug meets his Auntie Lil for the first time. This is what it says,   ‘ We knocked on the back  door and walked straight in, “Auntie Lil this is Doug.” My father informed her without much ado. She immediately reached out and pulled me towards her and gave me the biggest hug, “So this is Dougie?” There was genuine affection in her voice: my heart melted. I could feel the love radiating from her, it was almost tangible. Somehow I knew that here was someone who would love me for myself and whom I could trust.’

It’s almost as if I was there in the room, I can feel his response. We all need people to care, to value us and to affirm our presence in their lives. No one wants to be treated as if they are invisible. Don’t go through the day without giving affirmation to someone else. The bonus is that when you do you will actually feel affirmed yourself,

About Veronica Nowell Author

Veronica Nowell has published four books since 2008. 'a farthing cone', 'a fourpenny wafer' and 'six chocolate coated ice creams'. These have now been produced as a trilogy under the name 'ice creams'. the fourth book is titled 'rainbow icecream'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We all need to be loved by someone.

  1. Lovely words Veronica, that part of your last book was really moving and so well written. Glas to see you have a blog now, i shall follow it with interest.

    Gill x

  2. meredith says:

    Cool and great words

  3. trevor says:

    Love you book

  4. coxvivienne says:

    Oh Aunty Lil, yes the sweetest lady you would ever meet. We loved her and her memories often come to mind. We loved it when she sang two very old songs. The words I remember were “Softly round her bed we creep.
    Her rosy cheeks have grown so pale,
    Her ruby lips will speak no more,
    Little sisters gone to sleep.”
    Actually the other was a poem About “Little Jim” He was a paper boy in England and he was trying to look after his little brother, they only had rags and hardly any food. Aunty lil made us feel so much for that little boy and reminded us how blessed we were to have our family. When we would be leaving she would say”It has been lovely to have you visit so come back any-time and then we would all say Yes Aunty Lil but we can’t come Mondays , that’s your washing day, but we can come any time, Yes any time she would\d say. Then we would say but we can’t come Tuesday cos thats your ironing day but we can come any day, Yes come any day she’d say and this went on for every day of the week. Sunday was her day of rest and to spend with her Lord but we could come any day. Oh we loved that beautiful wonderful lady. She had started this little thing when we were very young and as we got older we said our goodbyes in the same way for many years. I wasn’t able to go to her funeral but I said my good byes to her as we had done all those years ago.
    Aunty Mary was also a beautiful lady. We loved our Great Aunts and Uncles.

Leave a comment